— Posted in News

Two More Counties Added to New York’s Lake Flooding Disaster Declaration

New York officials say two more counties that sustained extensive shoreline damage from Lake Ontario flooding last year are now eligible for federal recovery aid.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo and U.S. Sens. Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand, all Democrats, announced Friday that the Trump administration added Monroe and Cayuga counties to the state’s major disaster declaration for flooding last spring and summer.

The two counties were left off the initial declaration issued in November that included Niagara, Orleans, Wayne, Oswego and Jefferson. St. Lawrence County also was included because of flooding along the St. Lawrence River.

Lakefront areas in Monroe County sustained some of the worst damage when lake levels rose 30 inches.

Eligible counties can receive federal funding for part of the cost of repairing facilities damaged by flooding.


  • Vullo Calls on Insurers, Congress for Action in Wake of Lake Ontario Flooding
  • New York’s U.S. Senators Urge Quick Federal Action on Flooding
  • New York Flood Areas Getting Portable Dams, $1M in State Aid
  • New York: $7M for Homeowners Hit by Lake Ontario Flooding
  • New York State Providing $10M for Lake Ontario Flooding Recovery

Copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Article